Foundation Stage

Hello and welcome to Meridian Foundation Stage.

The Nursery (F1) is the first part of the Foundation Stage and Reception class (F2) is the second and final part.

Planning for the Foundation Stage is done in accordance with the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) curriculum guidance. Click on this link to find out more about the EYFS.

The EYFS practice guidance outlines six areas of Learning and Development:

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Communication, Language and Literacy
  • Problem Solving, Reasoning and Numeracy
  • Knowledge and Understanding of the World
  • Physical Development
  • Creative Development

Assessment in the Foundation Stage covers each of the six areas of learning and takes the form of observation, which involves both the teacher and other adults as appropriate.

The Foundation Stage Profile (FSP) is a statutory assessment for children in the final year of the Foundation Stage and is a way of summing up each child’s development and learning needs at the end of the Reception year. This information is shared with the Year One teacher to support future planning and the transition to Key Stage One.